ANNOUNCEMENT

THE 2019 APPLICATIONS FOR THE DELZIE DEMAREE TRAVEL AWARD

Applications for the 2019 Delzie Demaree Travel Award should include a letter from the applicant telling how symposium attendance will benefit his/her graduate work and letter of recommendation sent by the major professor. Please send letters of application to: Dr. Donna M.E. Ware, P.O. Box 8795, Herbarium, Biology Department, The College of William and Mary, Williamsburg, Virginia 23185-8795, U.S.A. 1-757-221-2799; Email: dmeware1001@gmail.com. Applications may also be sent to: Barney Lipscomb, 1700 University Drive, Fort Worth, Texas 76107-3400, U.S.A. 1-817-332-7432; Email: barney@brit.org. The period for receiving applications will end three weeks prior to the date of the symposium if a sufficient number of applications are in hand at that time. Anyone wishing to apply after that date should inquire whether applications are still being accepted before applying. The Systematics Symposium dates for 2019 are 12–13 October (subject to change).

The Delzie Demaree Travel Award was established in 1988 honoring **Delzie Demaree** who attended 35 out of a possible 36 symposia before he died in 1987. Delzie Demaree was a frontier botanist, explorer, discoverer, and teacher. His teaching career as a botanist began in Arkansas at Hendrix College in 1922. He also taught botany at the University of Arkansas, Navajo Indian School, Yale School of Forestry, Arkansas A&M, and Arkansas State University at Jonesboro where he retired as professor emeritus in 1953. One of the things he enjoyed most as a botanist was assisting students with their field botany research.

In 2018, the 30th Annual Delzie Demaree Travel Award was presented at the 65th Annual Systematics Symposium (12–13 Oct) at the Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis. Three students were presented the Travel Award: Sarah Herzog, South Dakota State University; Jayne Lampley, University of Tennessee, Knoxville; and Diana Soteropoulos, Arkansas State University.

The 2018 Travel Award was underwritten by (1) Contributors to the Delzie Demaree Travel Award Endowment and (2) members of the Delzie Demaree Travel Award Committee.